Does Not Like

I wrote an overlong blog entry about my plan to quit Facebook next month, but this list of reasons combed from a conversation I had with my friend Natalee pretty well sums it up without all the excess rhetoric:

1. I’m addicted to it, and it’s eating up too much of my time.

2. I’m getting tired of thinking of people in terms of images.

3. I want to try letting my memories be memories instead of these bizarre entities that I don’t know how to process and kind of make me feel icky.

Nothing to do with security concerns or anything like that. As far as using it to promote my website, I feel as though it’s not really doing me any favours, and that the time would be better spent focusing on content.

Paul Carr hates social media, Gary Vaynerchuk loves it:

Louis CK thinks everything’s amazing, but nobody’s happy:

About Joel Crary

Joel Crary is a 30'ish 21st century writer living in Vancouver, British Columbia. He enjoys films, mostly. View all posts by Joel Crary

7 responses to “Does Not Like

  • Emily

    Ha, this is timely. I just quit Facebook in a fit of pique, but I’d been thinking about it for ages. My departure will probably only be temporary, but it was much-needed in any case.

    • Joel Crary

      I noticed! Actually, I just emailed you yesterday at what I’m assuming is your old Hotmail address. Can I reach you through your Gmail account?

      • Emily

        Oh, I didn’t get that email — that account has been dead for a while. My gmail address is the way to go! emily dot m dot west at gmail dot com.

  • Matt

    Good for you! When you’re in town, we’ll have to talk about this more.

    Also, not getting Wi-Fi on the plane IS total bullshit. I am totally entitled to internet EVERWHERE!

  • Natalee

    I only use facebook because long lost crushes (from years back) still contact me on there and I can’t get enough of it. What if…three weeks after I quit…the nicest, smartest man I’ve ever met (who that is depends on mood/day of the week) contacts me!

    Lame, huh?

    I admire you for quitting. I swear, quitting smoking was easier. Way easier. Maybe because it didn’t stroke my ego as much. And I’m vain enough to fear wrinkles.

    If someone can prove that fretting over facebook is giving me mental, or facial wrinkles…sweet. That’ll the be the day I leave.

  • Natalee

    Also, thanks for sharing that Louis CK vid. LOL’d irl, man. Mmm…chair in the sky…

Leave a Reply

